Symbol for Ryukyu on Book Cover

The name for this symbol for Ryukyu is the mitsudomoe. Mitsudomoe has a literal meaning of “three comma-looking shapes.” The Ryukyu island chain makes up what used to be an independent country called the Ryukyu Kingdom. That is what it was when they developed the martial arts there which were later called karate.

Continue ReadingSymbol for Ryukyu on Book Cover